Advertisement

Collapse

X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some boring anodizing stuff

Thought I would post some stuff, since there seems to be a lot of interest.
    Finishing up a few jobs that have been delayed with my move and workshop build...
    I'm all self taught with this, and decided to take it on a few years back. I've always been mechanically inclined. I've invested a lot of spare time in research, money into proper equipment and supplies, and A LOT of trial and error.
    Anodizing only works on aluminum and titanium, that why anything in the acid bath on the anode side is one of these metals, and why not all aluminum is equal, why parts will exhibit different colors (as you all have seen with the old, original green Redfields).
    What anodizing does is build up a porous layer, and then it sucks up dye like a easter egg.
    Parts on the left are anodized, right are base metal.

Temperatures are of the utmost importance. Too hot of an acid bath, and you're left with an anodic layer that will wipe off with your finger. It also produces blotchy finishes.
    Too cold, and you won't get any type of layer without very high voltages, and very poor color absorbsion.

Too hot of a dye bath, and you'll seal your anodic layer before it can absorb dye.
    Too cold of a dye bath, and smaller particles of the dye (lets say the blue of a green dye) will be absorbed first resulting in a colors that are not correct.
    Green dye is black on a napkin.
    Black dye is purple on a napkin.
    The biggest mistake rookies make is producing a dye that looks green, and then getting a blue part from it.

Comment

• Sandymac21
      Sandymac21 commented
      Editing a comment
      Is the acid bath temperature a constant?
      And are somethings dipped longer than others?eg,a buttplate vs a scope tube

• tokiwartooth
      tokiwartooth commented
      Editing a comment